An EL84 tube guitar amplifier

Another old project (2010). Not much to tell here. Just showing some pictures.

I got my hands on an old (OLD!) electrophoresis lab power supply. Really sturdy metal enclosure. Believe it or not, it was tube powered (EL34)!

IMG_20150823_180451

I thought the chassis was kind of cute, so I built a small tube guitar amplifier with it. It is based on the P1 schematics from ax84.com (great project!).

100_1654

Obviously I found a way to recycle the voltage and current meters of the former power supply.

As you see below, I assembled the amplifier in point-to-point technique, which was kind of fun.

100_1645

This was my desktop background for a while 😛

And last but not least, here’s a video featuring some not-of-my-finest guitar work:

Leave a Reply

